Author Topic: Raykhelson's Refuge  (Read 1819 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ElliotViola

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 57
  • Tea is for Mugs.
    • ElliotViola's YouTube channel
  • Location: Brighton, UK
  • Currently Listening to:
    Bartók, Lyadov, Delius, Rebecca Clarke, Ligeti
Raykhelson's Refuge
« on: March 20, 2013, 04:14:33 PM »
I discovered a new, not very well-known composer today who wrote a glorious Viola Concerto!

Igor Raykhelson.

I would recommend that you all go instantly and listen to the recording of his Viola Concerto on Naxos Online Music Library! (PM me if you wish to borrow my login details- I'll trust you...)

From the Wiki: "Igor Raykhelson (Игорь Райхельсон, Leningrad, 24 April 1961) is a Russian born American classical and jazz pianist and composer. He studied classical and jazz piano as a teenager at Leningrad Conservatory from 1976 then in 1979 his family moved to New York City where Igor continued his education at New York University under Alexander Edelman. His Jazz Suite and works for viola performed by Yuri Bashmet were well received by Gramophone Magazine in 2007."
'Competitions are for Horses, not Artists' -Bélà Bartók.

Visit my website: