Author Topic: Michael Houstoun Plays Beethoven, Take 1  (Read 145 times)

Offline Todd

• Veteran member
Michael Houstoun Plays Beethoven, Take 1
« on: March 03, 2018, 08:11:54 AM »

It took a good long while - since early 2005 when I caught the LvB sonata cycle bug - but I've finally arrived at the destination of my personal journey: I possess a copy of all but one single-pianist complete cycle available to the public since I started my journey.  To be sure, I do not possess a copy of every cycle - some disappeared and have never been reissued (eg, Michael Steinberg) and some have never been issued on CD (eg, Robert Riefling) - and I knowingly dropped the ball on Shoko Sugitani's cycle (the but one), though I expect it to be reissued in 2020 or 2027.  Now, I just have to keep up with complete cycles when they appear.  In the case of this, Michael Houstoun's first complete cycle, recorded for Morrison Trust, I have some prior experience.  Many moons ago I purchased the last volume devoted to the late sonatas as MP3 downloads and listened few times, but I foolishly did not back up the hard drive the files were stored on, so I lost the files, and I misplaced the burned MP3-to-WAV converted CD-Rs, so I ended up rebuying the set.  I decided to go the MP3 route for this complete cycle because only three of the sets are available in physical media form, and then only at high prices.  I was able to purchase the MP3 files from a boutique vendor named Amazon, which also keeps the files stored on AWS, so now I will not have to worry about losing the files.  I actually didn't have to buy the set as Amazon makes the whole cycle available for streaming, and this may very well be available for streaming on other services, but I wanted to possess my own set so I can use the files on any device, or transfer to optical disc or flash memory and listen without being online.  It also will make extensive A/Bs with Houstoun's later Rattle cycle handy in the event I want to do extensive A