Author Topic: Jaap van Zweden, new NYPO director  (Read 10836 times)

Offline Brian

• Veteran member
    • Brian's blog
Jaap van Zweden, new NYPO director
« on: January 27, 2016, 07:03:49 AM »
http://www.nytimes.com/2016/01/28/arts/music/new-york-philharmonic-taps-jaap-van-zweden-as-its-next-maestro.html

"The New York Philharmonic announced on Wednesday that it was turning to Jaap van Zweden, an intense, exacting Dutch conductor, to be its next music director and guide it through the costly renovation of its hall, two seasons of exile and, if all goes well, a triumphant return to Lincoln Center.

"The appointment of Mr. van Zweden, 55, whose name is pronounced Yahp van ZVAY-den and who is currently the music director of the Dallas Symphony Orchestra and the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra, ends nearly a year of speculation about who would succeed Alan Gilbert when he steps down from the position next year."

-

As a Dallas resident, I've seen Jaap a few times and I've also had conversations with two DSO members about his style. He is one of our most underrated conductors for sure, a guy who brings great musical integrity to the classic repertoire. But those adjectives, "intense, exacting," are very apt: he is an old-fashioned drill sergeant in rehearsal, with a very specific vision for a work and not willing to stop until that vision is achieved. The musicians I spoke to were too polite to say anything negative about him, especially because they had deep respect for why he is the way he is and the results he achieves, but the subtext of "brilliant asshole" is there.

Which makes him part of a long, glorious tradition!

Offline Brian

• Veteran member
    • Brian's blog
Re: Jaap van Zweden, new NYPO director
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2016, 09:39:00 AM »
During 2017-18, Jaap will be the full-time music director in New York, Dallas, AND Hong Kong. He leaves Dallas in summer 2018 and Hong Kong in summer 2019.

Offline mc ukrneal

• Veteran member