1 (2.2%)
Johnston
2 (4.4%)
Norgard
0 (0%)
Someone else
23 (51.1%)

Total Members Voted: 36

Author Topic: Best Post-1950 String Quartet Cycle  (Read 17126 times)

Offline k a rl h e nn i ng

• Veteran member
  • Et quid amabo nisi quod ænigma est?
    • Henningmusick
  • Currently Listening to:
    Shostakovich, Frescobaldi, Stravinsky, JS Bach, Liszt, Chopin, Haydn, Henning
Re: Best Post-1950 String Quartet Cycle
« Reply #20 on: September 15, 2016, 04:07:37 AM »
(So, for fun, I have voted Someone Else.)
Karl Henning, Ph.D.
Composer & Clarinetist
Boston MA
http://www.karlhenning.com/
[Matisse] was interested neither in fending off opposition,
nor in competing for the favor of wayward friends.
His only competition was with himself. — Françoise Gilot

Online ritter

• Veteran member
  • Raoul Dufy, "Tragédie, Comédie"
« Reply #21 on: September 15, 2016, 04:17:55 AM »
(Disclaimer: as a former student, I am clearly an interested party.)

While I don't know that I would propose them for The Best (although, again, this remains rather a squishy pursuit), I find all four of Wuorinen's quartets excellent.
Your disclaimer honors you, Karl, but I am definitely not a former student, and also consider Wuorinen an excellent composer (must explore his SQs, though).

« Last Edit: September 15, 2016, 09:41:27 AM by ritter »
ritter
-------------------------------------------------------------
« Des yeux purs dans les bois
Cherchent en pleurant la tête habitable »

Offline nathanb

« Reply #22 on: September 15, 2016, 10:57:45 AM »
Just to add some more amazing cycles not yet mentioned:

Scelsi

Gubaidulina

Sciarrino

Anyway my top choice would probably be Carter

I had thought about Sciarrino but I can't decide if he has 8 quartets or 3 quartets. Yes, 3 is allowed, but 8 is a much cooler number.

While we're mentioning things even if they aren't our top choices, I haven't seen anyone mention Dusapin yet.

ComposerOfAvantGarde

« Reply #23 on: September 15, 2016, 12:14:21 PM »