Author Topic: Max Seeboth: Violin concerto (1939) - prize winning work!  (Read 195 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline violinconcerto

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 267
    • 20th c. violin concertante
Max Seeboth: Violin concerto (1939) - prize winning work!
« on: March 20, 2017, 01:45:24 PM »
German composer Max Seeboth (1904-1967) wrote a Violin concerto in 1939. The work was awarded the Magdeburger Musikpreis in the same year and hailed in reviews as the composer's masterpiece. A review of the world premiere in the "Zeitschrift für Musik" in 1939 wrote:

"In the midst of the two Allegros is the Adagio. Just because of this stunning affirmation the Violin concerto by Seeboth stands out among all the compositions written for the concertante violin in the last 20, 30 or more years and should have a place of honour in the repertoire of renowned soloists."

Unfortunately the work was later forgotten and today only few know the composer's name and this violin concerto. But the score, a sound snippet and a short biography of Max Seeboth can now be found on my website. The score is - as always - for gratis download in pdf-format. Here is the link to my site: