Author Topic: Chamber Music vs. Orchestral Music  (Read 1639 times)

Online aleazk

• My stuff
Re: Chamber Music vs. Orchestral Music
« Reply #20 on: November 17, 2017, 03:37:00 AM »
Chamber chamber chamber *takes a lot of air* chaaaaaaaambeeeeeeeer  0:)

Offline jessop

• Veteran member
    • jessop's SoundCloud
« Reply #21 on: November 17, 2017, 02:47:55 PM »
Chamber chamber chamber *takes a lot of air* chaaaaaaaambeeeeeeeer  0:)

Well it is certainly more satisfying to watch. I love the way the performers interact. One simply doesn't see that level of communication in orchestral cocnerts..............

Offline jessop

• Veteran member
    • jessop's SoundCloud
« Reply #22 on: November 17, 2017, 02:56:39 PM »
Interesting thing to think about.

I do tend to feel that earlier centuries underused the facets of the orchestra (compared to the recent and current century), musically speaking.

Compared to today, as a composer I find ensembles to be more rewarding detail-wise. Compared to orchestras which tend to be a GIANT blend of colors. The ensemble gives more of an intimate chance to explore things and things that would need to be amplified in a orchestra context (more subtle sounds and quiter instruments), so yes to the comment about that.

Also, as someone who is not yet an internationally acclaimed composer  :laugh: Thinking about ensemble writing is a more productive use of my time  :D