FEATURED BOXED SETS - Click to see details on Amazon. All sales from these links support your forum.

Author Topic: Classical Music Reviews - magazines & online sources  (Read 15562 times)

Offline North Star

• Veteran member
  • Currently Listening to:
    Leoš Janáček, Bohuslav Martinů
Re: Classical Music Reviews - magazines & online sources
« Reply #40 on: July 04, 2012, 02:39:40 AM »
How accurate does everyone find the classical music review section on the NPR Music website? I'm still learning the ropes when it comes to purchasing classical music (well, as a more discriminating consumer and not just buying box sets from the bargain bins!).

I have no idea of NPR, but I recommend asking here on the 'Recordings you are considering' thread (and searching for earlier discussions), and reading Amazon reviews, although most of them are worthless, some are very knowledgeable reviewers (it's awful if Giordano Bruno quit permanently).
"Everything has beauty, but not everyone sees it." - Confucius

Zizekian

« Reply #41 on: July 04, 2012, 04:35:55 AM »
I have no idea of NPR, but I recommend asking here on the 'Recordings you are considering' thread (and searching for earlier discussions), and reading Amazon reviews, although most of them are worthless, some are very knowledgeable reviewers (it's awful if Giordano Bruno quit permanently).

Thanks!

eyeresist

« Reply #42 on: July 04, 2012, 06:33:16 PM »
How accurate does everyone find the classical music review section on the NPR Music website? I'm still learning the ropes when it comes to purchasing classical music (well, as a more discriminating consumer and not just buying box sets from the bargain bins!).

I don't know that "accuracy" enters into the matter, beyond getting the name of the piece right and being able to tell if the musicians are in tune. The rest is a matter of personal taste, so the trick is to find critics whose taste complements your own.

Offline jlaurson

• Veteran member
    • ionarts