Haydn Keyboard Sonatas

Started by Que, May 27, 2008, 09:52:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Geo Dude

Any recommendations for a complete set (HIP) of Haydn's keyboard works?  I have the Schornsheim on hand, but I'm finding that it's not something I can enjoy.  Not yet at least.  While her technical skills are jaw-dropping, I find her playing a bit too stiff and cold.  How is Brautigam?  By the way, at this point I don't mind if the entire set is on fortepiano rather than harpsichord as I'm still learning to appreciate the latter instrument.

Gurn Blanston

Quote from: Geo Dude on December 11, 2011, 01:29:56 PM
Any recommendations for a complete set (HIP) of Haydn's keyboard works?  I have the Schornsheim on hand, but I'm finding that it's not something I can enjoy.  Not yet at least.  While her technical skills are jaw-dropping, I find her playing a bit too stiff and cold.  How is Brautigam?  By the way, at this point I don't mind if the entire set is on fortepiano rather than harpsichord as I'm still learning to appreciate the latter instrument.

Well, all that being said, then your best choice would be Brautigam, I think. Your second choice would be the set on Brilliant by several fortepianists. Brautigam seemed to be getting hard to chase down, unless a new batch of them has hit the stores. His playing is typically excellent, He is a powerhouse player!

The Brilliant set is very good, it features playing by Oort, Dütschler, Fukuda, Hoogland & Kojima. IMO, they are all good, but Kojima may be best on this set, and surprisingly Hoogland is the least inspired. Overall I would rate the Brautigam as an 8 out of 10, and the Brilliant as a 7. I am happy to have both. :)

8)
Visit my Haydn blog: HaydnSeek

Haydn: that genius of vulgar music who induces an inordinate thirst for beer - Mily Balakirev (1860)

Geo Dude

Quote from: Gurnatron5500 on December 11, 2011, 01:39:34 PM