Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Started by BachQ, April 06, 2007, 03:12:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sergeant Rock

1. What do you think are among Beethoven's greatest achievements?

Being a successful, self-employed musician; proving that a talented man didn't have to be some aristocrat's slave. Freedom, baby, freedom.

2. What are your favorite works by Beethoven?  Least favorite?

Favorites I'll catalog below. Least favorite? Not applicable. I even enjoy Wellington's Victory. I'm a student of the Napoleonic Wars and this music references a famous battle; it's just good, mindless, noisy fun.

3. Do you feel that Beethoven's personal challenges (deafness; nephew issues; etc) considerably heightened the emotional content of his music?

I've read all the prior answers. The forum seems to be split. I think of certain composers, Havergal Brian for example: knowing nothing about the man, you'd never guess his 32nd Symphony was written by a 96-year-old man. No hint of nostalgia, bitterness, regret, or approaching death. It's confident, even swaggering. Brian did not go gently into that good night. I have to conclude his personal circumstances had little affect on his music. On the other hand, Pettersson's cruel early life and his crippling disease clearly had a major influence on his music. Brahms' circumstances near the end of his life (all his closest friends gone; family gone; the feeling that he was alone) can be heard in his late music.

Considering Beethoven, yes, I think his music probably was influenced by his personal trials and tribulations. I mean, even Muss es sein can be traced to a petty money matter and the Heiliger Dankgesang was inspired by his renewed health after a serious illness.

4. Any favorite recordings?  Of Symphonies? Piano Sonatas? Concertos?  Chamber?  Overtures?

Where to begin...even more troubling, where to end... ;D

Missa Solemnis - Klemperer/New Philharmonia

Symphony 1 - Klemperer/Phiharmonia

Symphony 2 - Szell/Cleveland