Dmitri Kabalevsky (1904-1987)

Started by vandermolen, May 26, 2009, 06:42:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dhibbard

I studied piano professionally and at the University years ago and was introduced to his piano works.   

71 dB

Quote from: dhibbard on June 15, 2020, 06:15:49 PM
I studied piano professionally and at the University years ago and was introduced to his piano works.

Talking about piano works, I thought I had nothing from this composer in my collection, but actually I have something: His transcription of J. S. Bach's Toccata and Fuque in D minor, BWV 538 on a Naxos disc played by Risto Lauriala.
Spatial distortion is a serious problem deteriorating headphone listening.
Crossfeeders reduce spatial distortion and make the sound more natural
and less tiresome in headphone listening.

My Sound Cloud page <-- NEW Jan. 2024 "Harpeggiator"

vandermolen

Quote from: 71 dB on June 16, 2020, 01:12:10 AM
Talking about piano works, I thought I had nothing from this composer in my collection, but actually I have something: His transcription of J. S. Bach's Toccata and Fuque in D minor, BWV 538 on a Naxos disc played by Risto Lauriala.
Interesting. I think that I need to investigate his piano sonatas, having tracked back through this thread and read the positive comments. Still feel sad that cilgwyn disappeared  :(
"Courage is going from failure to failure without losing enthusiasm" (Churchill).

'The test of a work of art is, in the end, our affection for it, not our ability to explain why it is good' (Stanley Kubrick).

vandermolen

Quote from: dhibbard on June 15, 2020, 06:15:49 PM
Did you like them and what were they like to play?
"Courage is going from failure to failure without losing enthusiasm" (Churchill).

'The test of a work of art is, in the end, our affection for it, not our ability to explain why it is good' (Stanley Kubrick).

vandermolen

71 dB

Quote from: vandermolen on June 16, 2020, 01:35:57 AM