The Music Room > Composer Discussion

Reading Mahler Scores

<< < (2/5) > >>

Greta:
What fun this is! Already there's so much more I hear I didn't realize was going on until I saw it on paper. Mahler was so brilliant, I bow down.  0:)

I wanted to mention the book Gustav Mahler: The Symphonies by Constantin Floros that others have talked about on GMG, it really is an indispensable resource for this kind of study. The most important thing it addresses for me is Mahler's form (with measure numbers!) which helps immensely when wading through such long dense music. Mahler often twists and transforms his themes so completely by the end of a movement, this is tough to follow upon hearing but much easier to read about.

I have some experience reading orchestral scores and have taken orchestration, so following is okay, but trying to figure out how it all fits together with Mahler is the challenge. And I'm not great with other languages so I'm always trying to remember exactly what the score directions mean. Though I do have Dover Study Editions (which can be had quite cheaply through Amazon or EBay) which have a glossary for basic definitions.

I was so immediately fascinated with Mahler's writing and orchestration I knew seeing the scores I would be like a kid in a candy store. :D And I end up spending so long entranced with one part I haven't gotten through much of it yet! But last night I dove right into two "pieces of candy", the amazing Sturmisch bewegt of the 5th and the rousing Rondo-Finale of the 7th. Hmm, I guess I could've started off easier!