Hi to you all.

Started by ccar, September 12, 2009, 10:34:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ccar

Hi to you all.
I registered yesterday and am just beginning to explore the forum.  After my first post I realized I should have introduced myself first. Forgive me for the lack of etiquette.
I enjoy classical music since my teens but I am not a musician. My relation to music is based on my personal sensibility and listening experience. When touched by some musical composition I do like to explore different readings, trying to find the richness of the piece through different interpretations I relate with. In this quest I am never looking for perfection (I would not recognize) and I am never able to elect any "best "interpretation of a piece, to order the ones I do like in any rank or to define what is the "correct" style for a piece, the right tempi,  to locate a slip of intonation or a missing note. 
This is not to say I don't have my personal favorites. And I must also confess that sometimes I have a kind of irrational insensibility to some fine and famous musicians that I may respect but I personally find too rigid or cold or to whom I cannot "connect with" in terms of musical phrasing, freedom or color.               

knight66

A warm welcome Carlos. I should think you will encounter many like minded folk here. Most of us do not ascribe to the generally accepted appraisal of various famous musicians. We either connect or don't. A bit like the music itself, perhaps it is great, but I might not like it.

What composers or artists are you listening to?

Regards,

Mike
DavidW: Yeah Mike doesn't get angry, he gets even.
I wasted time: and time wasted me.

MN Dave

Hello Carlos from lovely Minnesota, land of 10,000 lakes and bazillions of mosquitoes.

Gurn Blanston

Welcome, Carlos. Hope you enjoy your stay with us, and we learn from each other. I am a big believer in not ranking or assessing greatness based on my own taste, also. I think you will like it here. :)

8)