Hello, another new person here!

Started by Joan, June 14, 2007, 08:14:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Joan

Hello good people!

I'm 46, I live in Southern California, librarian by trade, and have been a life-long, albeit sporadic (due to my liking many other kinds of music), classical music listener. The first works I remembering really loving, around age 8, were Swan Lake and the Peer Gynt suite. I  studied piano for a few years but had to stop due to neurological problems. I tried the clarinet too, but I was hopeless at that. Suffice it to say, I have no musical talent. I am a very lazy listener and I tend to listen to the same CDs over and over, keeping myself stuck at newbie-ish level of knowledge, so by signing up here I'm hoping to motivate myself to branch out more. I'm pretty sure that there's a whole lot of basic repertoire of which I am entirely ignorant.