La Taberna Maderna

Started by snyprrr, February 23, 2010, 08:17:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lescamil

Quote from: snyprrr on August 17, 2012, 08:22:26 PM
Maderna integrated the aleatory elements the most seamlessly of his contemporaries, perhaps?

I'm no Maderna expert, but aren't you forgetting about Lutoslawski?
Want to chat about classical music on IRC? Go to:

irc.psigenix.net
#concerthall

http://www.good-music-guide.com/community/index.php/topic,19772.0.html

-------------------------------------

Check out my YouTube page:

http://www.youtube.com/user/jre58591

snyprrr

Quote from: lescamil on August 17, 2012, 11:06:42 PM
I'm no Maderna expert, but aren't you forgetting about Lutoslawski?

I'm thinking Maderna's technique was more pervasive. Didn't WL just use this here and there? Most all of Maderna's orchestra in the oboe piece sounded slightly ad lib,... WL sounds nowhere near as pervasively dreamy as Maderna.

not edward

Quote from: snyprrr on August 18, 2012, 06:21:59 AM
I'm thinking Maderna's technique was more pervasive. Didn't WL just use this here and there? Most all of Maderna's orchestra in the oboe piece sounded slightly ad lib,... WL sounds nowhere near as pervasively dreamy as Maderna.
Nope, it's utterly critical in Lutoslawski; the interaction between a battuta and ad libitum in mature Lutoslawski can be regarded as a dialectical process somewhat akin to sonata form (particularly obviously in Webern's description of sonata form as a contrast between strict and free).
"I don't at all mind actively disliking a piece of contemporary music, but in order to feel happy about it I must consciously understand why I dislike it. Otherwise it remains in my mind as unfinished business."
-- Aaron Copland, The Pleasures of Music

snyprrr

Quote from: edward on August 18, 2012, 12:02:40 PM