Mark Simon's Madhouse

Started by Mark G. Simon, April 06, 2007, 04:52:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mark G. Simon

I recently was asked to write a piece for mandolin and guitar by a reputable duo of this combination. They said they heard the soundclips on my website and liked what they heard and wanted me to write something.

These are instruments I've never written for before, and I will find it a real challenge. The thing about the guitar is that you almost have to play it yourself before you can write well for it. I think I may start by writing out a long list of 5-29 set transpositions in voicings that I think will work for guitar and mandolin, check to see if they really work, and then refer to this list as I write the piece.

I'm imagining something about 5 minutes long, in 2 or 3 brief movements, very transparent, angel-like.

karlhenning

Guido

I wonder what preparations Walton made before writing his guitar pieces? Though he never really played any instrument very well as far as I remember, even the piano.
Geologist.

The large print giveth, and the small print taketh away

Mark G. Simon

Or Benjamin Britten, or Hans Werner Henze, or anyone who composes for guitar and doesn't know how to play it.

My stepson Wesley has a guitar, and I've been trying things out on it, and am starting to conclude that the instrument requires having rubber fingers that can contort themselves into totally unnatural positions. I've come up with two observations: I don't need to have all 6 strings set to the desired pitches. I can concentrate on 3 or 4 adjacent strings at a time. Alternately, I could have the G string tuned up to a G# and the open strings of the guitar would sound a 5-29 set. The guitarist could then barre up to any transposition desired.

Mark G. Simon

While in the process of getting more concrete ideas of what I want to do with the guitar, I received another request to write a 5 minute orchestral piece for a local community orchestra.