Henry Cowell (1897-1965)

Started by vandermolen, March 06, 2011, 01:22:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cilgwyn

I digress!
There we are,Henry Cowell DID get there first! On something,anyway. (He WAS a bit of a pioneer in SOME ways). Tone Clusters? I wonder if you can get copyright out on something like that? I don't expect so;but IF Cowell invented them,and he'd been able to copyright them,he could have probably made a heck of a lot of money out of the little blighters. In fact,every one who ever wanted to use them would have had to pay Henry a fee to use tone clusters.
There would have been allot of grumpy,hard up,Henry Cowell hating, composers!
Mind you,if you had to pay to use tone clusters would you really want to use them? If I was a composer and I wanted to use tone clusters & somebody wrote to me and said,'Sorry mate,but I own the copyright on those tone clusters',I'd probably only write compositions that didn't have any tone clusters.
But,that's just me!

cilgwyn

The two Henry Cowell cds,ordered appropriately,from a US seller,finally arrived today (Naxox vol 2 & 'Dancing with Henry' Mode). My one man resuscitation of the extremely popular Henry Cowell thread continues with a vengeance!
:o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o

Dax

Cowell didn't "invent" the note cluster of course.

For those who are interested, https://openaccess.leidenuniv.nl/handle/1887/15093 will reveal an excellent thesis on Extended Piano Techniques by Luk Vaes. Essential reading on such matters.

cilgwyn

He invented short threads.
Thanks Dax!

vandermolen

Am listening to Symphony No 3 now - the best Cowell work I know. It's a bit like McPhee's 'Tabuh-Tabuhan' at the start and it has a lovely slow movement.
"Courage is going from failure to failure without losing enthusiasm" (Churchill).

'The test of a work of art is, in the end, our affection for it, not our ability to explain why it is good' (Stanley Kubrick).

snyprrr