Becoming a composer: a good idea or not?

Started by Mirror Image, May 12, 2011, 08:41:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

karlhenning

Then you had people who were in the studio with Monk, under the misprision that he could not read notation . . . .

Florestan

Quote from: Velimir on May 13, 2011, 10:00:00 AM
Well if it gives you any hope...I started learning the piano 4 years ago, at the age of 42. It was due to a stroke of luck: I rented an apartment which had a piano in it, and I decided to take advantage of the situation. I got myself a teacher and applied myself. I'll never be a good pianist, but practicing almost every day for 4 years does have an effect.

Actually, a piano proper is certainly out of my financial and physical reach: firstly, I couldn't afford it, secondly it wouldn't fit in our apartment --- but I expect a keyboard to land this year.  :)

There is no theory. You have only to listen. Pleasure is the law. — Claude Debussy

Archaic Torso of Apollo

Good luck and have fun with it. You might be interested in this thread on the subject, which I started a couple of years ago:

http://www.good-music-guide.com/community/index.php/topic,10365.0.html
formerly VELIMIR (before that, Spitvalve)

"Who knows not strict counterpoint, lives and dies an ignoramus" - CPE Bach

Florestan

Quote from: Velimir on May 13, 2011, 10:39:08 AM
Good luck and have fun with it.

Thanks, I'll certainly have --- and I think I'll start a new thread when ready.  :)

You might be interested in this thread on the subject, which I started a couple of years ago:

http://www.good-music-guide.com/community/index.php/topic,10365.0.html

Interesting stuff there.

Now, back to MI and his thread.  :)
There is no theory. You have only to listen. Pleasure is the law. — Claude Debussy

Tapio Dimitriyevich Shostakovich