Erb's Blurb

Started by johnQpublic, August 13, 2008, 05:30:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

johnQpublic

Always a favorite with me. What an imagination and sense of playfulness he displayed.

http://www.cleveland.com/arts/index.ssf/2008/08/donald_erb_avantguard_composer.html

karlhenning

May light perpetual shine upon him.

(Gotta love the polyglot avant-guard in the headline . . . .)

Joe Barron

Quote from: karlhenning on August 13, 2008, 07:12:07 AM
(Gotta love the polyglot avant-guard in the headline . . . .)

I'm an editor, too. That smarts.

I didn't know Mr. Erb's music well, but what I've heard, I've liked. Marvin Rosen played his "Watchman Fantasy" on WPRB Princeton this morning in homage. It's quite an attractive piece. What a shame that I think of exploring a composer's music only after he's gone.

karlhenning

Don was a colorful personality, and his musical creativity was laced with mercurial wit. My sole personal connection to him was, that he graciously agreed to serve as the outside reader for my doctoral dissertation.

My favorite story of Don came from my old chum, Houston Dunleavy, a former student of his. A prospective composition student would go to Don's office at the Cleveland Institute of Music; and in this none-too-spacious office, the prospective student would find himself mysteriously crowded by a bewildering variety of Elvis paraphernalia, most of it quite characteristically tacky: an Elvis cuckoo-clock here, a three-quarter-size cardboard cut-out of The King there. Don would conduct the interview with deadpan professionalism. At the end of course he would ask the pr. student if he had any questions. As often as not, the interviewee would ask about, you know, all this Elvis stuff. Don would fix his gaze into the interviewee's eye, and reply with steady earnest: "Because he's the enemy."

karlhenning

Tangentially . . . .

Quote from: Joe Barron on August 13, 2008, 07:23:03 AM