Hello from Flanders

Started by nico1616, February 26, 2012, 10:13:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

nico1616

Hello,

I have been following this forum for a while and enjoyed a lot of the posts from veteran members.
It's now time to make some contributions, and let me start with introducing myself.

I have been listening quite intensively to classical music since 1995. The Queen Elisabeth competition for piano was the trigger. The winner of that year (Markus Groh) made me love Brahms 1st piano concerto, and that work started it all. Since then I have been addicted to listening to and buying cd's.
My favorite composer are Brahms (first love never dies  :) ), Mozart, Puccini, Tchaikovsky, Haydn, Sibelius and Handel.
My favorite conductors are Giulini and Minkowski.
For some years I listened to nothing but opera, but now I'm rediscovering symphonic works.

Mahler and Shostakovich, especially popular on this forum, are on my playlist now but their massive works take quite some time to get to know.
My latest most played work is Mahlers 6th, absolutely worth discovering.

My first post ever, who knows how many will follow :D

Nico

The first half of life is spent in longing for the second, the second half in regretting the first.

The new erato

bhodges

Welcome, Nico! Hard to argue with Brahms and the First Piano Concerto! Glad you have discovered the Mahler 6, one of my favorites (and I believe, of at least one other Mahler fan here, too  ;)).

--Bruce

madaboutmahler

Quote from: nico1616 on February 26, 2012, 10:13:05 AM
Mahler and Shostakovich, especially popular on this forum, are on my playlist now but their massive works take quite some time to get to know.
My latest most played work is Mahlers 6th, absolutely worth discovering.

Hi Nico!