Khachaturian-first complete Spartacus ballet recording (1974)

Started by Scion7, March 08, 2012, 11:00:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scion7

click image to re-size it

Back in - what was it, 1975? - I knew zilch about Aram Khachaturian.   To me, Russian music was Tchaikovsky, Mussorgsky, Rimsky-Korsakov and Prokofiev.  Maybe a little Borodin but hadn't bought any of his stuff yet.  And had yet to discover the sledgehammer of Shostakovich in 1977.  Today, of course, I've added Scriabin and others.  But in '75 I was a newbie raised on the three B's.   Anywho ... I was listening to the Davidson College radio station around 2 a.m. and they played the end of the first act.  I liked it, and set off in search of it.  Wound up having to call my buddy's-buddy who was the manager of Grapevine Records in Charlotte, NC to order it - this wasn't something anyone was carrying (yet), not even the "classical room" at Grapevine (the mgr there worked hard to keep those racks full of great stuff.)  So I ordered it, and a week later it came in.   Well, when I put it on, I was amazed - these Columbia/Melodiya New York-manufactured surfaces were virtually as quiet as a DG or Philips album - whatever pressing plant they used was blessed on that run!  The notes on the inside box were pretty good.  Performance was dynamic.  Certainly not the greatest ballet music ever written, but it's good stuff - and very, very Russian!  I've added a few other things by the composer since then, but not that much.  He was the "lightweight" amongst Prokofiev and Shostakovich.   :)

I haven't seen this on CD - but the same group of people re-recorded it for a live CD in 1995 - or that's when it was issued, anyway.  Never heard it.

from Gramophone  Oct 1976

KHACHATURIAN. Spartacus—Ballet. Bolshoi Theatre Orchestra conducted by Algis Zuraitis.
HMV Melodiya SQ SLS5061 (four records, nas, £10.95). Booklet Included.