De-lurking at last!

Started by classicalgeek, March 20, 2012, 02:46:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

classicalgeek

Hello all!

I've been lurking on this forum for a while, and finally registered a few weeks ago.  Now I'm officially de-lurking and introducing myself.

My name is James, and I live outside of Seattle, Washington, U.S.A. with my wife, daughter, and son.  I'm a software test engineer by day, but classical music has long been my life's passion.  I first fell in love with it at age 9 when I was forced to take piano lessons by my mother. She had told me I could quit after six weeks if I didn't like it - I was sure I wouldn't (like it, that is), but after three lessons or so, I knew I'd found something special.  I scraped together $3 and bought a cassette tape of 'Schubert's Greatest Hits', and I'm still hooked going on age 37!  I was also a composer, and studied composition and theory in college, but I decided not to keep it up as a career. 

I've always been a keen collector of recordings, though – first cassette tapes, then CDs starting when I was 14.  I even bought and sold CDs on eBay for several years as a side business.  My wife grew tired of the accumulation of hundreds of CDs in our smallish house, so we struck a bargain that I would curtail my CD purchasing in exchange for downloading to my heart's content.  I think if I lived alone, I'd have recordings from floor to ceiling in every room  ;D.  I'm no audiophile, so the sound quality tradeoff is no big deal for me.  Not to mention, a 3TB external hard drive holds the equivalent of thousands of CDs while taking up less shelf space than a Brilliant Classics Bach Edition!  So in the last five years or so my digital music collection has taken off.