Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 5: reviews and thoughts

Started by mc ukrneal, May 17, 2013, 02:24:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pat B

I just finished the Monteux 1958/RCA, from Living Stereo box 2. I'm not an expert on this piece (yet ;) ) but my first impression was excellent.

I only have a few BSO recordings. I know Symphony Hall has a great reputation for acoustics, but this was the first one where I specifically thought, "wow, this sounds great."

mc ukrneal

Next up: Mariss Jansons and the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra. 1984.

Available in these editions:   

First movement: A slightly faster start. No lingering on this one. Clarinet has a nice, full tone. And then into the next section, they speed up a bit, but not as much contrast as some. Still, it sounds very good. Nice big sound. It does get to the climax a bit early, so while good, it loses some impact because of this. Tempo does change as expected, but the changes are natural for the most part. Phrasing of the dynamics is generally good, though there are some places where they are just too loud for too long, which reduces the impact of these types of details. Balance of the orchestra is good, though trumpets not as prominent as in some versions of the piece. Tempo generally stays on the faster side, so not a lush, romantic version (this movement at least). Ends a bit abruptly?