Purchases Today

Started by Dungeon Master, February 24, 2013, 01:39:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Roasted Swan

Quote from: vandermolen on September 23, 2020, 07:05:00 AM
On the other hand Rutland Boughton's 'Oliver Cromwell' Symphony is terrible - absolutely awful but the CD is a must-have for the Bainton symphony:

Rutland Boughton is such a curious composer/story.  When I was a student I did a pilgrimage (kinda) to Glastonbury to find the Hall where he staged his "English Ring".  At the time it was completely shut up and near derelict.  Since then it has been restored/reopened and the last time I was there was holding a craft fair! (years ago).  But I did find it amazing to think of the great and the good who had trod those very steps back in the 20's.  Musically Boughton was never a genius but he did have the gift of touching a kind of collective emotional nerve.  The trouble is that much of his music feels "clumsy" and too often its aspirations outweigh its achievements.  But Micheal Hurd's book about him and the Glastonbury Festivals makes for a fascinating study of a certain period in British music between the Wars;

I'm sad enough to have both editions of this book!

Que

Quote from: JBS on September 24, 2020, 04:40:25 PM

Brilliant had a series of 8 CDs devoted to Telemann's overtures which I think was fairly good.
[asin]B0085U0GJW[/asin]

Agreed. Not on period instruments but definitely period informed playing - pretty good!

Q

Harry

I ordered a few things, some I might already have posted, but never mind. there was a Chandos sale at JPC de, some very good bargains.
Quote from Manuel, born in Spain, currently working at Fawlty Towers.

" I am from Barcelona, I know nothing.............."

Harry

Part 2.

Harry

Part 3.

Harry

The Salmenhaara which I ordered with JPC I deleted, for they lengthened the deliver time almost every week with a week, so I try at Amazon.

vandermolen

Quote from: Roasted Swan on September 25, 2020, 11:24:03 PM