20+ Years In

Started by pencils, August 20, 2013, 02:22:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

pencils

After 20+ years of collecting and listening to classical music, acquiring thousands of pieces and wading through mounds of Penguin Guides, Gramophone, BBC Music Magazine and reading numerous forum entries here and elsewhere, I have come to one conclusion.

I am still a complete beginner. Just saying.

Bleh  :-[ :-[

North Star

Quote from: pencils on August 20, 2013, 02:22:28 AM
After 20+ years of collecting and listening to classical music, acquiring thousands of pieces and wading through mounds of Penguin Guides, Gramophone, BBC Music Magazine and reading numerous forum entries here and elsewhere, I have come to one conclusion.

I would have thought that you would be pleased - I myself prefer the journey to the destination, in musical life or in just plain old life...
"Everything has beauty, but not everyone sees it." - Confucius

My photographs on Flickr

pencils

Quote from: North Star on August 20, 2013, 02:36:24 AM
I would have thought that you would be pleased - I myself prefer the journey to the destination, in musical life or in just plain old life...

Mixed, really. Don't get me wrong, I am delighted that there is always new material to discover and fresh nuances to explore, but the flipside is that I am constantly wondering why I don't know anything about him/those/her/these. Sat down last night with the Freitas Branco symphonies for the first time, and after all these years, realised again that I have not even begun to scratch the surface.

'Music is enough for a lifetime, but a lifetime...'

Karl Henning

Quote from: North Star on August 20, 2013, 02:36:24 AM
I would have thought that you would be pleased [...]

Exactly. The fact that there is such a wealth of great literature out there, is entirely the good sort of problem.
Karl Henning, Ph.D.
Composer & Clarinetist
Boston MA
http://www.karlhenning.com/