Schoenberg's Sheen

Started by karlhenning, April 12, 2007, 07:35:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mandryka

Quote from: hvbias on May 08, 2020, 08:42:16 AM
I've had Chen Pi-Hsien playing Schoenberg in my heavy rotation, boy is she good! It's all great, but op. 25 in particular is superb. This is my first time hearing his earliest piano music as well and I enjoyed it. Any suggestions for other discs that contain this music? I see Presto has this:

I have zero interest in those early pieces myself so this must not be taken as any sort of recommendation, but I do have them on record from Herbert Henk.
Wovon man nicht sprechen kann, darüber muss man schweigen

T. D.

Quote from: hvbias on May 08, 2020, 08:42:16 AM
I've had Chen Pi-Hsien playing Schoenberg in my heavy rotation, boy is she good! It's all great, but op. 25 in particular is superb. This is my first time hearing his earliest piano music as well and I enjoyed it....
Can't suggest alternatives, but OTOH can't resist butting in to say that I love that Chen disc.

vers la flamme

Enjoying some Schoenberg lately: Pierrot Lunaire, Verklärte Nacht, Erwartung, the first Chamber Symphony, the Serenade, etc. I'm for the most part trying to steer clear of the 12-tone music (for now) and focus on the great earlier stuff. I took a long break from his music but it feels good to be getting back into it in a big way.

There are some major omissions from my library that I'd like some help with. I don't have Pelleas, who has made a good one? I've been looking at the Karajan 3CD which also includes the Variations, the orchestral Verklärte, and some Berg and Webern. I don't know of any others. Also, I don't have a complete string quartets set. What are some good ones? Most of them are OOP and prohibitively expensive. I'm probably going to pull the trigger on the Asasello Quartett set on Genuin which sounds good and is still in print and affordable, but I'm open to alternative suggestions, if anyone has any.

amw