n-word Posts

Started by EigenUser, May 09, 2014, 07:44:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

EigenUser

I suppose I should clarify, just in case the topic title appears to be racist (although I laughed at the Debussy post ;D). I was poking fun at the one-word, two-word, and three-word post threads. In math if you talk about, for instance, dimensions, then you can have one-dimension, two-dimensions, three-dimensions, and so on (up to infinity). For a more general discussion on dimensions, mathematicians will usually refer to "n-dimensions" (where "n" is 1, 2 ,3, 4, etc. -- i.e. a positive integer). Ken has a background in mathematics so I knew he'd appreciate this. I studied engineering in college, so I have a (lesser ;)) background in mathematics as well (hence my username "EigenUser" -- referring to eigenvalues, eigenvectors, eigenspaces, eigenfunctions, eigenconditions, etc. -- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eigenvalues_and_eigenvectors).

Essentially, it's a joke.
Beethoven's Op. 133 -- A fugue so bad that even Beethoven himself called it "Grosse".

bwv 1080

All those German words - are you saying you're a nazi too?

Just kidding, I got the math reference OP title

Perhaps it should have been called 'X-word Posts' then could have got some titillation on top of the math humor ;)

Ken B

Quote from: karlhenning on May 10, 2014, 05:10:23 AM
yo, banana boy!
You talkin to me? You talkin to me? I don't see anyone else you can be talkin to. You talkin to me?

The Six

Florestan

Quote from: EigenUser on May 10, 2014, 06:25:02 AM
Essentially, it's a joke.

Well, I studied engineering too so I got your joke, but... it could also be taken seriously: since all posts ever written on GMG fall under this label, why not lumping them together in one single thread, namely this one? 
Every kind of music is good, except the boring kind. — Rossini

EigenUser

Quote from: Florestan on May 12, 2014, 02:11:21 AM