Mirror Image

I'll start...

1. Genesis

2. Pink Floyd -

3. King Crimson -

4. Rush -

5. Yes -

ibanezmonster

*awkward moment, when as a rock/whatever guitarist I can't even think of 5 Rock Bands I actually like*

Umm... King Crimson? Even though that's prog rock, I guess that'd still count...

Mirror Image

Quote from: Greg on June 10, 2014, 07:16:10 PM
*awkward moment, when as a rock/whatever guitarist I can't even think of 5 Rock Bands I actually like*

Umm... King Crimson? Even though that's prog rock, I guess that'd still count...

Prog rock is rock music, Greg, so no need to second guess yourself here.

ibanezmonster

Quote from: Mirror Image on June 10, 2014, 07:19:38 PM
Prog rock is rock music, Greg, so no need to second guess yourself here.
Considering all 5 of your choices are prog bands...  ;D

but really, though it is, some King Crimson stuff can sound more like experimental music with guitars than actual rock music, though I guess that's more of a side note than anything else. Though the question of non-prog bands would be an interesting one. I'm a big fan of Tool's Lateralus album and have liked a few songs here and there by other popular rock bands, but nothing significant, which is kind of funny.

Mirror Image

Quote from: Greg on June 10, 2014, 08:03:11 PM
Considering all 5 of your choices are prog bands...  ;D

but really, though it is, some King Crimson stuff can sound more like experimental music with guitars than actual rock music, though I guess that's more of a side note than anything else. Though the question of non-prog bands would be an interesting one. I'm a big fan of Tool's Lateralus album and have liked a few songs here and there by other popular rock bands, but nothing significant, which is kind of funny.

Greg, metal, which Tool are classified as, is apart of the rock genre. I'm still waiting for your top 5 list...

ibanezmonster

Quote from: Mirror Image on June 10, 2014, 08:10:46 PM