Building a Collection

Started by Appy34, August 23, 2014, 06:51:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Appy34

Looking back when you began building a music collection, did you focus primarily on cost or finding the best available recording? Did you purchase single discs or boxed sets?

I have been listening to classical for about six years and I've acquired about 100 titles. At first, I purchased based on recommendations. I then switched to box sets to increase the number of performances I had faster.

I think both methods have their advantages and disadvantages, but I was curious in knowing how others felt about it.

mn dave

Quote from: Appy34 on August 23, 2014, 06:51:13 AM
Looking back when you began building a music collection, did you focus primarily on cost or finding the best available recording? Did you purchase single discs or boxed sets?

When starting out in the Eighties, I concentrated on composer and work (as opposed to performer) and usually purchased single discs unless I was after 32 sonatas or something like that. Price might have been a factor but not much of one.

Jay F

It is much cheaper now to buy box sets on CD, so much so that they become the default purchase in the '10s. However, listening to an entire box set in has become an exhausting way for me to take in new music. So, what I'm doing now is to listen gradually and repeatedly to small chunks of box sets. I've got two box sets of Shostakovich's string quartets, and right now I'm on #12. I'm going to listen to it for awhile, then move on to another one. I listen to other, familiar music as well as I learn a new CD.