Haydn: String Quartets

Started by Jo498, September 25, 2014, 09:44:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jo498

To be honest it may be years since I listened to the Jerusalem album and I seem to recall that I might have found them a little "too smooth" (like I tend to find some of the Leipzig and the Auryn) in the one with 76/5. But I certainly liked their first one (wiht fifths, lark and 77/1) and the 33/3 in the 2nd one.
I am not all that picky (although it might seem otherwise), e.g. I will only realize rather gross faults in intonation and precision, it's been too long that I sang a little in choir and dabbled with a clarinet, I am not really a musician.
By now have quite a few decent recordings of Haydn, I think. But *great* ones (of which there are many for Beethoven, late Schubert etc.) are not common. And Haydn does really seem difficult. One danger is prettifying, another is exaggerating contrasts, another is routine (all but unavoidable in projects with dozens of pieces, so maybe the Leipzig approach has advantages) etc. Of course all this might also apply to some extent to Mozart and Beethoven. But there are so many recordings of the latter that some are bound to get almost everything right.
Tout le malheur des hommes vient d'une seule chose, qui est de ne savoir pas demeurer en repos, dans une chambre.
- Blaise Pascal

Mandryka

For me the JQ are shallow, once you've heard them a couple of times, once in fact,  there's no point going back. Perfectly anodine to hear, of course.

Too much emphasis on beauty of sound, that's the fundamental problem.

Just compare what they do in op 77 /1 with a really great performance (Pro Arte, Tatrai, Ulbrich)
Wovon man nicht sprechen kann, darüber muss man schweigen

Sammy

I'd like to mention the Salomon Qt. recordings on Hyperion.  Although likely hard to find these days, I consider these period instrument performances the best on record.  Fortunately, I acquired them when first released.

Old Listener