What Jazz are you listening to now?

Started by Gurn Blanston, June 12, 2015, 06:16:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

aligreto

Quote from: Dry Brett Kavanaugh on July 12, 2022, 05:52:22 PM
All of his albums in the 1950-60s are excellent. When I was a high school student, I was crazy about his  "So Long Eric". I think I still am.   ;D

Yes, anything that I have heard from him I really liked.
He was another late "discovery" for me.

San Antone

I've been listening to the complete Miles boxes, this week it was Seven Steps: The Complete Columbia Recordings of Miles Davis 1963–1964.

These sessions document Miles transition from the late '50s bands which cumulated with the sextet that made Kind of Blue. These bands from 1955-1960 featured John Coltrane, later paired with Cannonball Adderley.  It would take Miles several years and various personnel changes before he would create his second great quintet.  He had settled on the rhythm section of Tony Williams, Ron Carter, and Herbie Hancock but went through several sax players.

Of special interest in this box is Dic Six which contains the Miles in Tokyo recordings, with Sam Rivers, the last link in the chain which ultimately led to
Wayne Shorter, and the final make up of the quintet for Miles in Berlin, Disc Seven.  "Seven Steps to Heaven" is something of a pun.

aligreto

Quote from: San Antone on July 15, 2022, 03:51:15 AM
I've been listening to the complete Miles boxes, this week it was Seven Steps: The Complete Columbia Recordings of Miles Davis 1963–1964.

These sessions document Miles transition from the late '50s bands which cumulated with the sextet that made Kind of Blue. These bands from 1955-1960 featured John Coltrane, later paired with Cannonball Adderley.  It would take Miles several years and various personnel changes before he would create his second great quintet.  He had settled on the rhythm section of Tony Williams, Ron Carter, and Herbie Hancock but went through several sax players.