I listen to Death Metal. I'd like to listen to classical, too. Where do I start?

Started by MilesMetal, September 09, 2015, 02:39:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

USMC1960s

"""Ideally, I'd like a list of the essential works by the most influential classical composers.""""

Miles, I'm not all that far from being a beginner myself, although I've been listening for years now---here is an interesting list posted on the classical station in this area, WFCC.  Naturally a lot of the pieces are listed in your CD list, but this is what WFCC says are the most popular pieces with listeners over the years. I hope this helps.

-------------------------------------
Essential Classics

Many people have asked us over the years, "Which pieces of classical music do YOU think are the best?" And of course, that's a difficult question to answer! But, we've managed to narrow our list down from thousands and thousands of pieces to...oh, a hundred or so.

This is simply a list of our listeners' favorites over the years.

Bach The Brandenburg Concerti
Bach Orchestral Suite #3 (Air on the G string)
Bach Violin Concerto #2
Barber Adagio for Strings
Beethoven "Moonlight Sonata", Piano Sonata #14
Beethoven Piano Concerto #5, "Emperor"
Beethoven Symphony #3, "Eroica"
Beethoven Symphony #5
Beethoven Symphony #6, "Pastoral"
Beethoven Symphony #7
Beethoven Symphony #9, "Choral"
Beethoven Violin Concerto in D
Berlioz Symphonie Fantastique
Bernstein Candide Overture
Bizet Carmen
Boccherini Minuet in G
Borodin Nocturne for Strings
Brahms Piano Concerto #1
Brahms Symphony #1
Brahms Symphony #3
Brahms Variations on a Theme by Haydn
Brahms Violin Concerto
Bruch Scottish Fantasy
Chopin Piano Concerto #1
Copland Appalachian Spring
Copland Fanfare for the Common Man
Debussy Clair de lune
Debussy Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun
Dukas The Sorcerer's Apprentice
Dvorak Cello Concerto
Dvorak Slavonic Dances
Dvorak String Quartet #12, "American"
Dvorak Symphony #9, "New World"
Elgar Enigma Variations