Composers: what type of pen do you use?

Started by paul, April 13, 2007, 01:54:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

paul

I've been happy writing music in pencil, which is necessary for most people, but when I want to make neater drafts for myself and for people to read, I find myself wanting to write in pen. What types should I try out?

Mark G. Simon

I've been using Finale for the past 16 years, but when I was still using pen and ink I used:

A fountain pen with a special music nib
A rapidograph pen with a very thin tip (I can't remember the specific width. I think it might be .01)
A pencil and eraser.
A clear plastic ruler.

The fountain pen was for the note heads, flags and beams, clefs, instrument names, dynamics, and for tempo markings and other bold-face directions such as cresc., dim., con sord., etc. The rapidograph was for stems, ledger lines and barlines. The pencil was for measuring the amount of space on the page I was going to allot for each measure, then drawing light lines for each beat so that there would be good vertical alignment of notes. All of the pencil marks would, of course, be erased after the ink was dry.

The Mad Hatter

I use either a black felt-tip pen or a (don't laugh) pen and ink-bottle.

The former makes everything look clear and bold, but the latter gives a gorgeous line.

lukeottevanger

I use anything-that-comes-to-hand and then write it into Sibelius. Even in the pre-Sibelius days I never had  anything particular for score-writing, except when writing large orchestral works when I would use something with a very thick nib for large time signatures, tempi and so on.

Bonehelm

Quote from: paul on April 13, 2007, 01:54:51 PM
I've been happy writing music in pencil, which is necessary for most people, but when I want to make neater drafts for myself and for people to read, I find myself wanting to write in pen. What types should I try out?

It's called a keyboard. Welcome to the 21st century.

Cato