Looking for a recommendation for a set of the Rachmaninov Piano Concertos

Started by JLR, January 22, 2016, 05:22:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JLR

I have perused through the extensive threads on the Rachmaninov Concerto Review project.  Thanks for all that hard work.  I am wanting a single disc (or box) with all the piano concertos.  Or maybe two discs if necessary.  So I am seeking a compromise--best set altogether rather than XXX for Concerto 1, YYY for Concerto 2, ZZZ for concerto 3, etc.

I am new to Rachmaninov and confessedly by the standards of this board under-educated musically.  This is what I have: 

I bought it on a lark in a used bookstore.  I enjoy it, but I am guessing there is something better out there.

Here are some recordings I am looking at (based in part on the Review Project). 

[asin]B00003ZKRQ[/asin]

[asin]B00000427L[/asin]

[asin]B0000057LA[/asin].

This last is obviously only 2 and 3, but if I am advised that this is a must have, I would be interested in this plus another recording that has the other two.

I really appreciate the advice.  This is the most knowledgeable music forum (or really forum on any subject matter) that I have ever stumbled across.

North Star

Quote from: JLR on January 22, 2016, 05:22:15 AM
I bought it on a lark in a used bookstore.  I enjoy it, but I am guessing there is something better out there.

Well it depends on what you want the performances be like. I don't know the Bronfman/Salonen, but I would be surprised if it wasn't at least good.

The Rudy/Jansons has the advantage of getting the Paganini Rhapsody and Tchaikovsky PC 1 in the same go, of course. Another set of the four concertos to consider is Andsnes, though.

[asin]B008H3OXHS[/asin]
"Everything has beauty, but not everyone sees it." - Confucius

My photographs on Flickr

Karl Henning

Our Cato also highly recommended this set:

[asin]B000UZ4EXY[/asin]

Karlo (North Star) and I both enjoy this set, too:

[asin]B0040UEIAO[/asin]