Where can I learn about 'bests'?

Started by ShineyMcShineShine, March 02, 2016, 07:25:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ShineyMcShineShine

As a beginner, I often wish to know what the 'bests' are, e.g. who are the best composers, what are the best string quartets, which are Mozart's best works, which of Haydn's string quartets are the best, is this piano trio a major or minor work, etc. Of course I know that "best" is a subjective term, but I'm talking about the composers and works that are generally agreed upon as most important. Googling usually produces disappointing results, and Wikipedia tends to avoid judgements on the value of particular works. Is there a reliable source (preferably on the web) that I can consult about such matters?

Jo498

This is a very fallible rule of thumb but pieces that are performed and recorded very frequently are usually considered among "the best". It fails in some cases like Haydn symphonies or quartets because they are too many, so the frequently performed dozen is a somewhat skewed sample.

But if you cast the net a little wider, e.g. in the case of Beethoven sonatas not only listen to "Moonlight" and "Appassionata" but also to e.g. "Waldstein", "Les Adieux", op.2/3 and op.111 you will get a fairly good impression of the range of those 32 sonatas (you will still miss my favorite, op.109, but this does not matter). In the end, almost all of them are today core repertoire, so will probably listen to all 32 if you are interested in piano music.
Tout le malheur des hommes vient d'une seule chose, qui est de ne savoir pas demeurer en repos, dans une chambre.
- Blaise Pascal

ShineyMcShineShine

QuoteThis is a very fallible rule of thumb but pieces that are performed and recorded very frequently are usually considered among "the best".