Where can I learn about 'bests'?

Started by ShineyMcShineShine, March 02, 2016, 07:25:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ShineyMcShineShine

Quote from: (poco) Sforzando on March 05, 2016, 08:45:06 AM
I can't disagree with any of this, really. We all have our own way of getting into this music, and there's no one formula that works for all. I think the OP simply wanted some starting point for what are the most-recognized pieces, but that doesn't mean he has to or will start working through anybody's list in a mechanical fashion. Sooner or later he'll find what he feels is worth seeking out, and eventually he will like all the rest of us form his own listening personality.

Actually, I have already formed my listening personality. Although I described myself as a neophyte, I've been listening to classical music for nearly 20 years (yikes!). It's only been in the past few years that I became serious about it, but I've always been guided by my own taste. Confronted by the enormity of the canon, I decided that the best way to approach it was to identify what I liked and follow that thread. That method has resulted in much enjoyment, but one consequence is that so far I have neglected most of the 'masterpieces'.

Mirror Image

Quote from: ShineyMcShineShine on March 05, 2016, 12:50:59 PM
Actually, I have already formed my listening personality. Although I described myself as a neophyte, I've been listening to classical music for nearly 20 years (yikes!). It's only been in the past few years that I became serious about it, but I've always been guided by my own taste. Confronted by the enormity of the canon, I decided that the best way to approach it was to identify what I liked and follow that thread. That method has resulted in much enjoyment, but one consequence is that so far I have neglected most of the 'masterpieces'.