Ludvig Irgens-Jensen (1894-1969)

Started by Scion7, March 26, 2016, 01:38:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scion7

Born in Oslo in 1894, died in Sicily in 1969.  Romantic neo-classical in style. 
He stated that he admired Bach, Palestrina, Chopin, Brahms - any who "wrote music of real importance." Although he studied at the University of Oslo, it was in the field of literature and languages - as a composer, he is self-taught.  He did have formal training on the piano.
He won a couple of prizes for his compositions.  Some of his works during Nazi Germany's occupation of Norway were considered patriotic, and therefore illegal, and had to be distributed through clandestine channels.  He was awarded a stipend from the Norwegian government in 1945, and in 1947 was elected to the Swedish Royal Academy of Music.

Chamber music
=======================

Rondo, vn, pf, 1924;
Sonate in b-flat, vn, pf, 1924;
Pf Qnt, 1926;
Bols vise, vn, pf, 1938;
Altar, vn, pf, 1939;
I blodethans blømde, str qt, 1939;
Pastorale religioso, str qt, 1939;
Duo, 2 vn, 1943
various piano pieces

Orchestral pieces
================================

Tema con variazioni, 1925;
Passacaglia, 1928;
Bols vise, vn, orch, 1938;
Altar, vn, str orch, 1939, rev. 1963;
Kong Baldvines Armring, suite, small orch, 1939 [from incid music to play];
Partitasinfonica, sym. suite, 1939, rev. 1951 [from Driftekaren];
Pastorale religioso, small orch, 1939, rev. 1944, rev. 1963;
Rondomarziale, 1942;
Sinfonie, d, 1942;
Canto d'omaggio, 1950;
Air, small orch, ?1959

Quote from: Lilas Pastia on December 02, 2009, 06:29:26 PM

Ludvig Irgens Jensen (1894-1969); norwegian composer. Tema con Variazioni (1925, 20:32), Oslo PO, Odd Gruner-Hegge ; Passacaglia (1927, 21:07) and Partita sinfonica (1938, 18:31), both with Oslo PO, Ole Kristian Ruud