Newbie Here Looking For Direction

Started by mellis107, April 04, 2016, 09:27:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scion7

Since you apparently got off on the wrong foot with Mahler, let me try to suggest something that might appeal more to you.
For me, the Ninth and the completed portion of the Tenth are the ultimate in the instrumental Mahler, but  'The Song of the Earth' is generally considered his greatest achievement, and definitely the most popular historically.  Bernstein is not the best Mahler interpreter, but he's more than adequate here with a good orchestra and the great Christa Ludwig.  There are better studio recordings available, of course, but watching it 'live' may give you more appreciation for it - especially if you read along with the text.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=idRevTkIPts

I shudder somewhat to say this, but skip ahead to the final movement, at 34:29 - this is Der Abschied (The Farewell).
Mahler created a transitional work that is part symphony, part song.  This 'should' grab you, especially if you'll dig around the web and read about the origin of the work and read the texts (which you can find in English) that Mahler worked (and edited) from.

Then go back to the beginning and watch the whole thing, from the opening with Kollo kick-starting the proceedings.  If you come to love Das Lied von der Erde, which Mahler never got to hear - it was published, then performed, after his death - there is a major, long thread on this site about the various recordings of this work if you find yourself more interested. 

Added later - texts -  http://www.keepingscore.org/content/farewell-das-lied-von-der-erde-song-earth-symphony-tenor-and-contralto-or-baritone-and-orc