Sound The TRUMPets! A Thread for Presidential Pondering 2016-2020(?)

Started by kishnevi, November 09, 2016, 06:04:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SimonNZ

Thanks!

a couple of well worded comments I saw elsewhere:

"He's only exonerated from a tiny, wafer-thin sliver of a definition of collusion--very specifically parsed to ensure that it's technically true.

Like saying, I didn't rob the bank on tuesday afternoon between 3:30 and 3:35 using a Colt 45 with ivory handles and wearing black leather boots and a red handkerchief, right after I had a half-caff soy latte and a scone.

I had a full-dailry latte. That makes the above statement technically true. Even if I did the rest of it, scone included."

"A while back you responded to one of my offhand comments where I quoted the R's as claiming there's no "evidence" of collusion and then I went on to say I put the word in quotes because as a lawyer I'm deeply skeptical that the report said any such thing.

Just to be clear, this is what I was getting at: the word "evidence" in a legal context has a specific meaning. It doesn't mean the same thing as "proof." And, saying there's "insufficient evidence to bring charges" is not saying the same thing as "there's no evidence." So what I meant by that (clumsy) offhand comment, was that the R's are playing semantic games here. Even lawyers like Giuliani are playing the game, and he knows better.

"Evidence" is (basically) something that's more or less relevant if it makes a fact likely to be true. "Circumstantial evidence" requires some process of deduction; "direct evidence" does not.

If you find mouse droppings on the kitchen floor ... that's circumstantial evidence that you have a mouse problem.

If you find the actual mouse on the kitchen floor ... that's direct evidence.

"Proof" is what you have when the available evidence adds up to a certain standard (depending on the area of law involved).