3 amateur piano sonatas in the classical/romantic style

Started by Hammerklavier, July 02, 2017, 03:03:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hammerklavier

Hello!

I'm not a professional musician, but I've always enjoyed music, particularly classical music.  I have no formal musical training of any kind, but when I have spare time, I like to try and study music theory fundamentals while attempting to create my own musical compositions.  For all that I've managed to learn, there is still so much I haven't come to understand with any kind of sophistication, and I'll be the first to acknowledge that my technique as a composer needs a lot of refinement.  I like the music I create, but I've always felt that professional musicians would review my work and find a lot to criticize.  Now I can get a sense for just how much!

That said, I've composed three piano sonatas, each with multiple movements.  I'm submitting them for your perusal with the hope that the creative and talented musicians of this site may offer feedback, positive or negative (I anticipate more of the latter).  I'll be the first to acknowledge that there are a myriad of issues with the way the music has been laid out on the scores, and my understanding of music notation and how to use Finale remains a work in progress.  I imagine users of this site could write an entire book outlining all of the errors in the notation alone.  I haven't been sweating the notation issues as much, as this music is not being written for anyone else to perform.  It is composed purely for playback purposes.  I would greatly appreciate feedback on the merits of the compositions, in terms of compositional technique (harmony, counterpoint, voice leading, motivic development, etc...) and whether or not it captivates, entertains, etc...

A few notes on each sonata: