Debussy Études

Started by Mirror Image, April 02, 2018, 06:25:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mirror Image

Quote from: Sergeant Rock on April 02, 2018, 06:06:13 AM
Debussy 12 Etudes and Schoenberg Drei Klavierstücke op.11 played by Uchida

Sarge

What do you make of Uchida's Études, Sarge? Rafael (ritter) absolutely loathes her performance of the work and this is a large part of what I've steered away from it, but would love to hear your take on it.

Sergeant Rock

Quote from: Mirror Image on April 02, 2018, 06:25:35 AM
What do you make of Uchida's Études, Sarge? Rafael (ritter) absolutely loathes her performance of the work and this is a large part of what I've steered away from it, but would love to hear your take on it.

If Ritter and you share a taste in Debussy performance, heed him. I can't really help you other than to say it sounds fine to me. But I'm no Debussy expert. I only know Uchida's performance.  I bought it based on positive reviews in various publications, and Jed Distler thinks highly of it:

https://www.classicstoday.com/review/review-12952/?search=1

Sarge
the phone rings and somebody says,
"hey, they made a movie about
Mahler, you ought to go see it.
he was as f*cked-up as you are."
                               --Charles Bukowski, "Mahler"

Mirror Image

Quote from: Sergeant Rock on April 02, 2018, 06:40:47 AM
If Ritter and you share a taste in Debussy performance, heed him. I can't really help you other than to say it sounds fine to me. But I'm no Debussy expert. I only know Uchida's performance.  I bought it based on positive reviews in various publications, and Jed Distler thinks highly of it:

https://www.classicstoday.com/review/review-12952/?search=1

Sarge