What are you listening 2 now?

Started by Gurn Blanston, September 23, 2019, 05:45:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Papy Oli

This one has finally landed from the US Market place  8)

Vaughan Williams - symphonies No.8 & 9 (Boult/LPO)

[asin]B00004YA0V[/asin]
Olivier

vandermolen

Quote from: Pohjolas Daughter on February 20, 2020, 04:40:50 AM
Wow (on both accounts)!  What would 25p be worth now I wonder?  Was that inexpensive even then?  How badly damaged was the shop?   :(

PD

It was incredibly cheap then as well.  I bought four LPs (five as the Janacek was a double album) for £1.00. My best ever bargain purchase. I don't know about the shop but hope that nobody was hurt. I was a student at Lancaster in the North of England at the time and was told by the record shop (they existed then  :() that the LPs had come from stock in a shop which had been damaged by a bomb in N.Ireland.

Thread duty:
From Ossian's Songs - hauntingly atmospheric music, rather like Liadov:
"Courage is going from failure to failure without losing enthusiasm" (Churchill).

'The test of a work of art is, in the end, our affection for it, not our ability to explain why it is good' (Stanley Kubrick).

vandermolen

Quote from: Papy Oli on February 20, 2020, 05:04:36 AM
This one has finally landed from the US Market place  8)

Vaughan Williams - symphonies No.8 & 9 (Boult/LPO)

[asin]B00004YA0V[/asin]
No.9 is especially good IMO Olivier.
"Courage is going from failure to failure without losing enthusiasm" (Churchill).

'The test of a work of art is, in the end, our affection for it, not our ability to explain why it is good' (Stanley Kubrick).

Traverso

Ruth Crawford Seeger

Ruth Crawford Seeger (1901 - 1953)
Music for small orchestra 
Three Chants 
Etude for Piano "study in mixed accents"
Three Songs
String Quartet 1931
2 Ricercare
Andante for Strings
Rissolty Rossolty

Charles Seeger (1886 - 1979)
John Hardy (1940)

Suite (1952)

vandermolen

Alun Hoddinott: Symphony No.3 (1968)