What is the difference between acid-jazz & free-jazz

Started by Carlo Gesualdo, December 10, 2019, 04:47:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Carlo Gesualdo

I'm still a Noob in Jazz, so I wander what to think of acid-jazz and free-jazz, both to me seem like the same thing all does I could be wrong, Free-jazz seem to me like Cecil Taylor I love that free-form playing, than what is acid-jazz here my one million dollars question, is it a false style coined by someone to make it hip like Grunge was the mother child of David Geffen, there never was such thing as Grunge, it was just a blend to make ''dirty garage rock'' more hip?

Free-jazz is free for all jazz improvisation to my knowledge
like Borbetamagus?

All does, this is mere speculation, I was not born and raised on jazz, so I cannot tell if Acid jazz exist or not. But Free-jazz most exist.

Perhaps acid-jazz is bands like Ruins of Japan, noise-rock-ish proggy and  free-form, than again Acid-Jazz seem link to Free-Jazz, if it exist.

Can  you show me example of so call Acid-Jazz and Free-Jazz, because I'm lost, don't know what to think of this at all.

Explain me the nuance between both please?

aukhawk

A lot of difference.  Acid jazz is rock-inflected jazz - I would have said originating in the late 1960s in West Coast America, however Wikipedia has it as a more funk-oriented form originating in London in the '80s.  Typically (but not essentially) featuring electric instruments (bass, piano) rather than the acoustic counterparts usually found in jazz.  I would cite Miles Davis' Bitches Brew as an example - but given Wikipedia maybe I'm wrong about that.