String quartet in A Minor

Started by krummholz, February 09, 2020, 07:51:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

krummholz

This is the first, and maybe only, time I am posting my own music here. A bit about my background: I studied theory and composition at Michigan in the 1970s with William Albright and William Bolcom, but I'm not a professional musician and I had not written any music in over 40 years because I didn't know of any way of hearing even an approximation of what my scribblings sounded like after leaving school. Then in December I discovered MuseScore and MIDI playback, and started transcribing a few of my works into electronic score.

I began this quartet as a simple ternary form while studying with Professor Albright during the summer of 1975. It was mostly in a sort of Bergian idiom, with a Tippettian flowing, diatonic contrasting section. Fast forward to now, and I realized that the reprise of the A section was a total failure and needed to be the beginning of a development section. So I recomposed the rest of the piece after the first 20 or so bars of the (now) development. It is now in a fully developed sonata form, with two subsidiary theme groups, and a development that breaks into a brief, slightly faster section that feels like an allegro but isn't written as such. There is a big climax, after which all the themes are reprised. The "Tippett" theme in particular becomes a rather schmaltzy violin duet in the reprise, though the inspiration was actually late Shostakovich (15th Symphony). The work ends with a desolate viola solo that quotes a bit of Brian's Gothic.

This piece may not be completely finished... the writing in the exposition is decidedly clumsy, with lots of dense, opaque harmonies caused by excessive use of double-stopping. In my rewrite I took that material as a given and worked it into the texture of the new stuff, most of which is more balanced or at least, listenable.