Playing music professionally?

Started by Accompanist, September 01, 2020, 12:18:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Accompanist

Hi all,
I'm a Canadian undergrad music student and I'd love to try accompaniment/collaborative piano as a career, and other musicians tell me they think I'll make a killing but non-musicians condescendingly tell me I'd be better off flipping burgers, and I'm having a really hard time finding any real information on the subject (chance of success, income, how to go about finding work beyond pre-existing connections etc). I know this kind of work would mostly be self-employment and highly variable based on circumstances but is there anywhere said data might exist?
Thanks very much! 

relm1

Quote from: Accompanist on September 01, 2020, 12:18:28 PM
Hi all,
I'm a Canadian undergrad music student and I'd love to try accompaniment/collaborative piano as a career, and other musicians tell me they think I'll make a killing but non-musicians condescendingly tell me I'd be better off flipping burgers, and I'm having a really hard time finding any real information on the subject (chance of success, income, how to go about finding work beyond pre-existing connections etc). I know this kind of work would mostly be self-employment and highly variable based on circumstances but is there anywhere said data might exist?
Thanks very much!