Author Topic: Suite for Solo Cello No.2, BWV 1008 IV: Sarabande  (Read 1226 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline burnabyguitar

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • Ming Guitar Studio
  • Location: USA
Suite for Solo Cello No.2, BWV 1008 IV: Sarabande
« on: March 20, 2021, 11:15:14 PM »
Suite for Solo Cello No.2 (BWV 1008)
IV: Sarabande

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 – 1750)

Johann Sebastian Bach was a German composer and musician of the Baroque period. Known as the father of classical music, Bach created more than 1,100 works, including roughly 300 sacred cantatas. His output is unparalleled and includes about every musical genre outside of opera. He is known for instrumental compositions such as the Brandenburg Concertos and the Goldberg Variations, and for vocal music such as the St Matthew Passion and the Mass in B minor. Since the 19th-century Bach Revival, he has been generally regarded as one of the greatest composers of all time.

The six Cello Suites, BWV 1007-1012, are suites for unaccompanied cello by Johann Sebastian Bach. They are some of the most frequently performed and recognizable solo compositions ever written for cello. Bach most likely composed them during the period 1717–23, when he served as Kapellmeister in Köthen. Those cello suites are also frequently played on guitar.

Suite No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1008 contains 6 movements: 
I. Prelude
II. Allemande
III. Courante
IV. Sarabande
V. Minuet I / II
VI. Gigue

The guitar arrangement of IV. Sarabande is selected as one of RCM (The Royal Conservatory of Music) level 6 repertoire.

<a href="" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win"></a>