Greetings all

Started by foxandpeng, April 26, 2021, 04:52:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

foxandpeng

Wanted to finally say hello after being a long time lurker of about 5 years. I guess I want to say thank you for all the help over the years. I don't post, because I'm not a musician in any way, shape or form, and have never felt I have much to contribute of value. I'm by no means a new listener to serious music, but always feel like a comparative beginner.

Your corporate wisdom and pointers are immensely useful!
"A quiet secluded life in the country, with the possibility of being useful to people ... then work which one hopes may be of some use; then rest, nature, books, music, love for one's neighbour — such is my idea of happiness"

Tolstoy

vandermolen

Welcome to you! I hope that you enjoy your time here. I'm not a musician either - can't read a note of music. All I recall from early music lessons is deliberately knocking the end off my recorder to annoy the bad-tempered music teacher. None of this, however, stops me rambling on and on here about music and my favourite composers. So, I hope that you will be encouraged to comment as well. Who are your favourite composers/musicians?
"Courage is going from failure to failure without losing enthusiasm" (Churchill).

'The test of a work of art is, in the end, our affection for it, not our ability to explain why it is good' (Stanley Kubrick).

Mirror Image

Welcome aboard! I'm a musician but with limited sight-reading ability. :D I can still read percussion notation rather well, though, but I learned this early on when I was in the school band. Anyway, don't feel afraid to post more often. Another viewpoint is always welcomed here.

foxandpeng

Thanks for being so gracious.

My favourite composers vary like the British weather, to be honest.Lots of Scandinavians and other Northern Europeans, and mostly from the Romantic period onwards.