Hello!

Started by Mapman, April 07, 2022, 04:21:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mapman

Hi!

I'm a physics graduate student and clarinetist. I mostly like romantic to mid 20th-century music with memorable melodies. Some of my favorite composers include Mahler, Sibelius, and Dvorak. I also enjoy discovering music by more obscure composers.

I'm also introducing my girlfriend to more classical music. She's listened to all of Mahler's symphonies with me, so I think it's going well.

This forum looks fun!

Mapman

LKB

I'm a rather extreme fan of Mahler myself. " Fanatic " may be a more accurate word, tbh...

Welcome to gmg, we're not all lovable here but you'll find much to interest you.   8)

Mit Flügeln, die ich mir errungen...

Pizzicato-Polka

Welcome, Mapman!

I also really like Sibelius, and think it's amazing that you're introducing other people to classical music. I hope you'll enjoy your stay here!

aligreto

Welcome aboard.
It is good to see you posting already.
I hope that your participation continues and indeed look forward to it.
:)

vandermolen

Quote from: aligreto on April 08, 2022, 02:02:42 AM
Welcome aboard.
It is good to see you posting already.
I hope that your participation continues and indeed look forward to it.
:)
+1
I'm also a fan of Sibelius. It sounds like you are having more luck in introducing your girlfriend to classical music than I had with my wife (when she was my girlfriend). I recall playing her John Foulds's 'Dynamic Triptych' (an excellent piece by the way) - all she could say (in a rather bored tone) was 'well, it certainly is dynamic - isn't it?' Things haven't improved since.  ::)
"Courage is going from failure to failure without losing enthusiasm" (Churchill).

'The test of a work of art is, in the end, our affection for it, not our ability to explain why it is good' (Stanley Kubrick).

Papy Oli

Hello and welcome Mapman !
Olivier

DavidW

Quote from: Mapman on April 07, 2022, 04:21:54 PM
Hi!