Die tote Stadt

Started by Anne, November 12, 2007, 08:13:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Anne

I am listening to Korngold's Die tote Stadt (Naxos) and besides noting that it reminds me of the orientalism in Puccini (Turandot or Madama Butterfly, for example), it also sounds very much like US musicals.  All the roles are sung.

I guess I'm asking what makes an opera as opposed to what makes a musical?  How does Die tote Stadt fit either of the categories?  Is it Korngold's style of writing?  In the beginning of the work, the music sounds like a motion picture is about to begin.

Lethevich

It was written before Korngold's move to the US, so I doubt there is much related to musicals in it, although I'm not an expert. It reminding you of movie music could be because Korngold was one of the first Hollywood film composers, and essentially, a lot of the Hollywood sound in movies from the 40s and 50s was pioneered by Korngold and immitated by others. It is his own style, rather than being derivative of anything.

IMO his early operas fit well into the post-Wagner musical landscape of Europe, with composers such as Strauss and Zemlinsky, and Puccini was strongly influenced by Wagner as well. Operas from the early 20th century are interesting for how each composer deals with the Wagner question...
Peanut butter, flour and sugar do not make cookies. They make FIRE.

Anne

Quote from: Lethe on November 12, 2007, 08:53:44 AM
It was written before Korngold's move to the US, so I doubt there is much related to musicals in it, although I'm not an expert. It reminding you of movie music could be because Korngold was one of the first Hollywood film composers, and essentially, a lot of the Hollywood sound in movies from the 40s and 50s was pioneered by Korngold and immitated by others. It is his own style, rather than being derivative of anything.