György Kurtág (b. 1926)

Started by bhodges, November 12, 2007, 10:18:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Joaquimhock

I was only able to listen to the first hour and the last 15 minutes properly. Do you know if there is a podcast somewhere? I find nothing on RAI 3...

"Dans la vie il faut regarder par la fenêtre"

Joaquimhock

"Dans la vie il faut regarder par la fenêtre"

Mandryka

Wovon man nicht sprechen kann, darüber muss man schweigen

bhodges

Happy Birthday to György Kurtág, who turns 93 today.

One of the greats, he wrote his first opera last year, 'Fin de partie,' based on Beckett's 'Endgame.'

--Bruce

schnittkease

Quote from: Brewski on February 19, 2019, 05:45:48 AM
Happy Birthday to György Kurtág, who turns 93 today.

One of the greats, he wrote his first opera last year, 'Fin de partie,' based on Beckett's 'Endgame.'

--Bruce

Long live!

vers la flamme

I'm new to his music, but it's recently occurred to me that Kurtág is one hell of a composer! I have this disc:

... & it's great... especially the song cycle Messages of the Late Miss R.V. Troussova, op.17, and my personal favorite from the disc, ...quasi una fantasia..., op.27/1, surely an homage to Beethoven's op.27 "Quasi fantasia" sonatas.

Any fans of Kurtág's music lately? I think he reminds me something of Anton Webern, a favorite of mine, but... very different. Another touchstone would be Lutoslawski. But I find Kurtág's music to be truly unique. Definitely one of the greatest living composers, no...?

Another question I have: can anyone tell me whether or not Kurtág's music employs so-called serial techniques? I ask because some of his music shares similarities with the prototypically serialist late music of Webern, but for the most part, I am more so reminded of Webern's pre-serial, expressionistic works.

CRCulver

Quote from: vers la flamme on September 15, 2019, 10:24:55 AM