A new member (with ambitions)

Started by bassio, December 18, 2007, 03:04:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bassio

Hello everyone, my name is Ahmed, from Egypt (anyone African here?). I am an amateur pianist and love classical music. I used to read the older forum regularly and loved the informative discussions .. and I recently found out that a new forum opened so I decided to register for an account.  :)

For me Bach is always the greatest composer of all. Everyday, I discover more of his genious works. My favorites also include Beethoven, Liszt, Rachmaninoff and Chopin ..etc etc

Currently listening to:
Bach - The Brandenburg Concertos (sublime)
Bach - Lute works
Beethoven - Piano Concertos - particularly no.4
Prokofiev - Piano Concerto No.1

Still wants to discover: Shostakovich symphonies - Mahler

I look forward to learning much more about music by following your discussions.

So how do discussions go on around here? Who does the talking?  ;D Any fights? Any bullies? Any weapon-raising arguments?  ;D

For years, listening to various recordings and selecting my favorites and comparing interpretations has always been a hobby of mine. So I decided to open a blog to write my reviews/thoughts .. but since programming is a hobby of mine [plus the usual disappointment with amazon reviews and others], I decided to open a new site which I hope will become a free educational resource for people on anything related to classical music.

The site will -hopefully- include an "open-source" (CD and concert) reviews section; anyone can join and add his reviews; but it will be somehow reviewed or moderated to avoid weak reviews or nasty comments and to maintain high quality.